Best-Selling · Dystopian · Fantasy · YA

“Red Queen” by Victoria Aveyard

22328546

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Review:

I really enjoyed reading this book, although I had a hard time getting into it at start but then it got a bit interesting. The story is well-written and keeps you hooked till the end. Characters are well-developed and the kind you love to hate.

The story started out slow but managed to keep my interest. The descriptions of all the powers of every kind of Silver was really boring for me (I skipped most of it). There was no need to go into that much detail as it was not required.

Everything in the story felt forced – making Mare the princess, giving her every facility and lessons for behaving like a princess, her absolutely nice guard Lucas, amazing teacher Julian and of course both Princes, Cal and Maven. She basically got everything a Red could never imagine.

The King and Queen could have easily kept her as a prisoner or made another lie about who she is (Elara is a very good liar). But they did the thing which was least expected. This was the moment when I knew that this story was nothing more than a fairy-tale, where everything fits into place on its own.

The story is enjoyable if you ignore all of the above things I said and just go with it. The author clearly wanted to show Mare as heroic kind of character, who can fight for her rights, but that didn’t go the way she imagined. Mare was clearly stupid and made wrong choices in the whole book. At one point I wanted to jump in the book and shake her to bring her senses back.

The biggest plot twist in the book was very predictable. I think anyone would have guessed what was going to happen. Although the last part was kind of unpredictable for me, because I never thought they would do that to Cal. Anyways, the ending left a big hope for a better story, so I’m looking forward to reading the second book.

P.S- I will read the prequels before reading the second book to get more insight on the story.

Characters:

MARE: I was really sad that the protagonist was Mare. As I said before, she made stupid decisions. She also had feelings for both brothers which was weird for me. She kept constantly jumping from Cal to Maven and Maven to Cal.

CAL: Cal was my favorite character I would say. Although I did hate him at times but he’s still my fave. The only problem with him was that he wanted to keep the world as it is. Otherwise, he was pretty good and nice.

MAVEN: Ah, well what do I say about Maven! He’s a pretty good actor. I don’t particularly like him but I did expect him to do things the other way round.

EVANGELINE: She was just an irrelevant character. I don’t know why she was even there in the book. All she did was just hate and insult Mare and show her powers to everyone. Her character had a lot of potential but she did nothing.

KILORN: He was a pretty good friend to Mare. I like him and hope he gets more scenes in the next book.

ELARA: She was my favorite Villain I guess. Can’t wait to see what she’ll do next.

Okay, so I think I’ve covered most of the important characters. There’s nothing much to say about others.

Rating:

♥ ♥ ♥ ♡ ♡

56d4345dcccc6

Feel free to express yourself

