Adventure · Fantasy · Middle-Grade

Percy Jackson-The Lightning Thief

28187

 

2

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

 

5

Okay, so I really wanted to read Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan but then I found out that I should read Percy Jackson series & Heroes of Olympus series before reading Trials of Apollo.

Disclaimer: I loved the Percy Jackson Series (Yes I’ve finished reading it) but the first book was my least favorite, i.e, i didn’t like it.

There are lots of reasons for not liking this book, One of them being “too childish” and by that I mean it felt like the author was trying too hard to write from a 12 year old’s point of view. I know it’s middle-grade but it felt forced. Another reason is that everything seemed to fall in place for Percy. It’s the first book in the series, everything shouldn’t fall in place on its own. Percy didn’t even knew about this world few weeks ago and now he’s on a quest, fighting monsters. He went to the underworld and faced Hades and blamed him for stealing Zeus’s lighting bolt.

I had a hard time getting into this book, mostly because I didn’t know much about Greek gods. After reading Rick Riordan’s post explaining all the gods and doing some of my own research, the book was much more enjoyable.

 

1

I really liked the concept of Greek mythology in modern world. It was good to see children of Gods with unique powers and abilities. I also liked the way dyslexia and attention disorder were dealt within the book. The idea of Mist was quite interesting as humans do try to reason anything that is weird or out of the ordinary and the mist does exactly that.

 

4

I absolutely loved the characters. It took me a little while to like Percy but every other character was instantly likeable and unique. My favorite characters from this book were Grover and Annabeth. Rick has done a good job in characterization.

 

3

6

Feel free to express yourself

